top of page

NPM to On-Board New Governance Leadership

FLAGSTAFF, AZ - Native Public Media, a national organization dedicated to connecting tribal communities with communications facilities including radio, television, and the Internet, today announced that nominations for Board vacancies are open following the departure of Board members Geoffrey Blackwell, Matthew Rantanen, and Raymond Foxworth. New board members will serve staggered 3-year terms.

“We whole heartedly thank Blackwell, Rantanen, and Foxworth for all their contributions to Native Public Media,” said Board Secretary Richard Davis. “All three members have collectively served more than a decade on the Board and played a critical role in NPM’s growth and development.”

NPM is widely known for doubling the number of broadcast facilities serving Indian Country from 33 to more than 60, working with other Native organizations to advocate for the establishment of the FCC Office of Native Affairs and Policy, developing training curricula for broadcasters serving Indian Country, hosting an annual Native Broadcast Summit, establishing an international internet governance policy fellowship, and boasting strong advocacy and station support programs over the past 15 years.

“Leadership plays a critical role in the development and success of Native Public Media. Certainly, Blackwell, Rantanen, and Foxworth with their dedicated board service have helped our organization to achieve significant accomplishments. Over the next couple months, our priority is to find the best candidates who can lead NPM along this successful trajectory. Our confidence in NPM to continue its success remains high and we look forward to on-boarding new leadership for our prestigious organization,” concludes Davis.

NPM will seat its new Board members by the fourth quarter of 2019.

bottom of page